Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken & Crazylegs

18 Apr

As promise…about 2 or 3 days ago, my slow cooker BBQ Chicken Recipe

Ingredients

1 bag frozen chicken breasts (skinless, boneless – approximately 10 servings)

1 large onion, chopped

2 cups water

Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder to Taste

1/2 cup BBQ Sauce (I like Stubb’s as it has no high fructose corn syrup)

Directions

1. Place chicken, onion, water, and seasonings in your slow cooker and cook on high or low for the suggested amount of time.

2. When full cooked, drain the excess water.

3. Pull apart the chicken breasts with two forks, until the desired size of the shreds/chunks (I wish there was a better way to explain this, it just sounds weird.)

4. Replace chicken in slow cooker and pour BBQ sauce over the top, stir with a large spoon to coat well and cook on low for an additional hour.

5. Enjoy.

You can definitely omit the onion if it doesn’t agree with it, I just like the texture.

This morning I woke up a little late, so I wanted to squeeze in a hard run. I ran for 30 minutes at an 8.0 mph on the treadmill at my gym, followed by a cool down of some faster paced walking. Since I will be running Crazylegs with my sister and not going for any sort of time this spring, it’s not really necessary to speed train, but occasionally it’s nice to see where I am when it comes to sustaining speed at a longer distance.

That being said, I was very tired when I got to school and couldn’t stop yawning until now.

How fast can you run and how far?

 

One Response to “Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken & Crazylegs”

  1. Sean April 21, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    Go out and buy a little bottle of “liquid smoke,” (I prefer mesquite,) then add a few drops when you first put the chicken and seasoning in the slow cooker. Not only will it make your kitchen smell like BBQ, but it’s a good way to infuse more of that sort of flavor without adding calories.

    Then you can experiment with adding that smokey flavor to anything you boil, braise, or steam. Sometimes I even include a drop or two in marinades.

Leave a comment