Musical Monday 3 & Increasing Intensity Cardio

16 Apr

Happy Monday! This morning, my run was powered by a great mix that I immediately knew I’d share for Musical Monday.

Musical Monday Playlist 3

Come Back Clean – The Crystal Method

Escape Velocity – The Chemical Brothers

The Fear – Lilly Allen

Don’t Stop – Foster the People

Shake It Out – Florence + the Machine

Talk that Talk – Rihanna (feat. Jay-Z)

My Iron Lung – Radiohead

Random, no?

I’ll also share the cardio work out I did this morning. I prefer to get the hardest work out of the way early on in my work out – I want to do my sprints first and work my way down. However, I don’t really end up pushing myself if I know it’s figuratively “all downhill” from the first 15 minutes of my work out. Today I did an interval work out that intensified with a couple of recovery periods in between sets.

1 – 5.0

2 – 5.5

3 – 6.0

4 – 6.5

5 – 7.0

6 – 7.5

7 – 8.0

8-9 – 4.5

I repeated this 5 times for a total of 45 minutes. Even thought it averaged out to a 10 minute mile, I was sweating more than I normally would if I had done this work out in reverse.

Do you like to save the hardest part of your work out for the end, or get it out of the way immediately?

Stay tuned for a recipe later today…

One Response to “Musical Monday 3 & Increasing Intensity Cardio”

  1. tlbflowllc April 16, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    Good call on the intervals! That’s definitely my favorite way to do cardio.

    I always try to hit my hardest exercise first (well, after a warm-up). I almost always have more physical and mental energy at that point.

Leave a comment